Blueberry Lavender Smoothie

I have added Kefir to Rainbow Light Nutrition, & the whole family is loving it! My intuition was telling me that we needed to add more fermented foods to our yogic diet. Today, my son asked for a smoothie (he calls it “Foon-ee”) for lunch, so I made a Blueberry Lavender smoothie with it – YUM! I used an organic kefir, & then added frozen blackberries, blueberries, a bit of agave nectar, hempseed, & dried lavender flowers from our garden. If I wanted to add a superfood, I would probably add some goji berry powder, today I kept it simple.

 

I will offer some Kefir basics, please do your research if you want more detailed info. I am still in the process of finding the right fit in someone to provide me with Kefir grains, as I would prefer to make my own. If anybody has a good source, by all means pass it along. For now, I have found an organic variety from the store that works.

What is Kefir? It is one of the oldest cultured milks, & has been called the champagne of milk. It contains several species of lactic cultures using active Kefir grains plus Kefir cultures.  Kefir grain is not a true grain ; but a culture that is a combination of yeast & bacteria. It can be made with milk, goats milk, soy milk, & vegan (using water grains called japanese water crystals) without any dairy.

Why is it beneficial? It restores the intestinal flora from people recovering from many different serious illnesses, or from the treatment of anti-biotics. It provides many minerals & important amino acids. It is a great source of Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, B1, B12, Vit K, & biotin. All of these provide synergistic healing and maintenance for the body. It is also pre-digested which means that it is tolerated well even by those who are lactose intolerant.

What illnesses does it help treat? Cancer, AIDS, IBS (irritable bowel syndrome, allergies, colitis, herpes, leaky gut, immune disorders, ADHD, depression, chronic fatigue syndrome, & more.

The Cultures in Kefir Lactococcuslactis subsp., Leuconostocsubsp., Streptococcus thermophiles, Lactobacillus subsp.,  L. casei, L. plantarum, L. rhamnosus, B. bacterium,  and others.

The difference between Kefir & yogurt- Most yogurts today are  “pseudo-yogurts”. They contain all kinds of added sugars, artificial sugars, hormones and anti-biotics, not to mention most only contain one type of pro-biotic culture. Kefir contains a variety of cultures without the rest of that garbage. 


I think this Kefir is going to be an easy one!! Now I just have to learn how to make it!

As always, Cheers to your pristine health- Body, Mind & Spirit!

Leave a Reply

